December 2, 1981

Board begins search for President Kenny's successor

The University of British Columbia's Board of Governors has approved the establishment of a broadly-based committee to advise on suitable candidates to succeed Dr. Douglas T. Kenny, who will retire as UBC's president on June 30, 1983.

Dr. Leslie Peterson, Q.C., chairman of the Board of Governors, said:

"Douglas Kenny is truly one of the most dedicated people ever to serve the University, who has set a very high standard of excellence. He has made an extraordinary contribution to the enrichment of the quality of education at UBC through his overriding insistence on excellence in teaching and research and his strong belief in high admission standards to the University.

"During his tenure as President of UBC Dr. Kenny has rigorously pursued his goal of leading the University to its current preeminence among Canadian institutions of higher learning university of world stature.

"He will continue to serve with the full confidence and support of the Board of Governors, until his successor assumes office."

President Kenny became UBC's chief executive officer on July 1, 1975. In 1978, two years before his five-year contract as president was due to expire, Dr. Kenny reluctantly agreed to a three-year extension of his contract to June 30, 1983, under the proviso that there would be no further extensions of the contract.

Dr. Kenny plans to return to teaching and research in Psychology. When he steps down as UBC's seventh president on June 30, 1983, he will have completed 39 years of association with the University as student, teacher, researcher and administrator.

Dr. Peterson said the proposed advisory committee would have essentially the same structure as the advisory committees which recommended the appointment president in 1969 and that of Dr. Kenny in 1974. The composition of the committee would be referred to the University Senate for approval at its meeting on Dec. 16 and it is hoped that the committee will be formed early in the new year.

The proposed membership of the committee is as follows:

* The chancellor as chairman and four members of the Board of Governors;

* Three members of the Senate, to be elected by Senate;

* Four members of faculty, to be elected by the Joint Faculties;

* Three deans, to be chosen by the Committee of Academic Deans;

* Four students (a member of the executive of the Alma Mater Society; two undergraduates to be chosen by Students' Council; and one graduate student to be chosen by the Graduate Students' Association);

* Three members of the Alumni Association, to be appointed by the Board of

Management of the association; and * One member of the non-

academic administration, to be appointed by the chairman of the Board of Governors.

The terms of reference of this committee shall be:

(a) To adopt criteria to guide it in the selection of presidential candidates; and

(b) To recommend a short list of presidential candidates to the Staff Committee of the Board of Governors.

Dr. Peterson said that, under the University Act, the Board has the responsibility for appointment of the president, but it wishes to obtain the assistance of this advisory committee.

The criteria for the selection of a new president will be a matter for the committee to consider, but the Board wishes to appoint a Canadian, who is highly regarded in his or her own academic discipline.



and its establishment as a	recommended the appointment of the late Dr. Walter Gage as	appointed by the Board of	